Please rate how useful you found this document: 
No votes yet

ProcessMaker Administration

  • Verify the compatibility of PHP and MYSQL for the purpose of designing processes and executing cases.
  • Always check the integrity of the ProcessMaker database. Corrupt data causes bad performance when working with ProcessMaker.
  • Make sure that the elements required for the processes to run, such as email servers, users, groups, departments, etc, are properly configured.
  • Do not store unnecessary data in ProcessMaker.
  • Use ProcessMaker command, such as flush-cache and other commands available in ProcessMaker.
  • Make sure that the SSL certificate is valid in the server. This is especially necessary when working with the Gmail integration.

Backing Up and Restoring ProcessMaker

  • It is highly recommended to make periodic backups of ProcessMaker.
  • The restore and backup of a workspace can only be made on the same platform (Windows -> Windows, Linux -> Linux), because the names of the tables in MySQL in Windows are not case sensitive, which may make ProcessMaker have problems.
  • For Linux/UNIX, if the shared directory has been set with the permission "770" using the command "chmod -R 770" for security reasons, then log in as "root" or use the sudo command when backing up a workspace. Another option is to add your user to the Apache group (which is "apache" for Red Hat/CentOS/Fedora, "www-data" for Debian/Ubuntu, and "www" for SUSE/OpenSUSE), so that the user can do backups:
    useradd -G apache-group username
  • If using Linux/UNIX, it is necessary to specify the directory where the ProcessMaker script is located, so prepend "./" to specify the current directory:
    ./processmaker workspace-backup WORKSPACE [BACKUP-FILE]
  • When backing up bigger workspaces, the parameter -s512 dev can not be used in Windows systems.
  • Be prepared for a long wait when restoring a workspace. If restoring a workspace that users need to access, it is recommended to do the restore operation during a period when users will not need to access the workspace.
  • All the workspace files from the backup will be created in:

    <install-directory>/shared/sites/WORKSPACE/

    with the same file permissions and same file owner as the shared directory. For greater security, change those file permissions (read more here).